New Song Friday

Hello again friends.  Today I’ve got something rather different for you.

Those of you who’ve known me for a while know that the word ‘bluegrass’ can easily appear as I talk about hymn arrangements, particularly when the hymn in question is an old gospel song.  Whenever I use that word at All Souls, it’s usually met with laughter and I’m not sure why.  Do people think the music itself is invalid?  Are the players not real musicians?  Or have the Brits never really heard bluegrass and aren’t entirely sure what I’m talking about (not an isolated incident)?  Well, if any of these are true, I intend to remedy the situation by letting you hear some of this music.

This first installment is technically not bluegrass but rather a familiar Cole Porter tune sung by Dolly Parton.  This is from her album Little Sparrow and for this one she pulled together some of the best bluegrass players on the planet to be her band.  Consider this an appetizer.

I Get A Kick Out Of You

As always, I’d really appreciate your comments.

Have a great weekend.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

